b"History of The Shevchenko Foundation1959Permission is given to place a1990The Foundation disburses over2009The first Night of Taras2019Theatre artist Andrew Kushnir of monument to Taras Shevchenko, Ukraines$200,000 in grants. Fundraiser is held in Winnipeg MB toToronto receives the inaugural awarding of national poet, on the grounds of the1994The Board of Directors appoint anpromote the Kobzar Literary Awardthe new REACH Mentorship/Residency for Manitoba Legislature. $175,000 is raised forInvestment Committee with Wally Shoemayand to build the Kobzar Literary Awardthe Arts. Fifty students from Ukraine take this project. as Chairperson. The first meeting of theDesignated Fund. Winnipeg Free Presspart in the Mitacs Global Link Internship 1961Canadas Prime Minister John G.Investment Committee is held. receives the John Syrnick Award forprogram, a component of the newly Diefenbaker, unveils the Taras ShevchenkoJournalism for their coverage on theestablished Shevchenko Foundation Future monument in Winnipeg, MB on the 100th1995The Foundation receives its firstHolodomor. Leaders Fund.anniversary of Shevchenkos death. A surplusinsurance policy gift. 2010The Foundation goes on-line with2020The Board of Directors appoints of $30,000 is invested into an endowment1997President Andriy Hladyshevsky,credit card donations and a Facebook page.David Chucko as Chair of the Investment fund. The fund is dedicated to theQ.C., initiates the Kobzar FellowshipThe Kobzar Literary Award is presented toCommittee and welcomes Bohdana Bashuk preservation and development of UkrainianProgram. Randall Maggs for Night Work: The Sawchukas the new Executive Director.the Ukrainian Canadian Foundation of Taras1998The first 11 members of the.The Kobzar Book Award is presented to culture in Canada and becomes known asPoemsKobzar Fellowship are inducted at a launch2011 The Foundation celebrates itsLaisha Rosnau for Our Familiar Hunger.Shevchenko. 10th anniversary for the bookmark 1962Senators John Hnatyshyn, Williamceremony in Saskatoon.campaign by distributing over 32,000Playwright Liana Makuch receives the 2020 Wall, Paul Yuzyk and Nicholas Mandziuk, MP2001The Foundation launches itsbookmarks to Ukrainian Canadian youthREACH Mentorship/Residency for the Arts for Marquette work to incorporate theofficial website. across Canada. Award.Foundation as a national body. 2002The first Shevchenko bilingualFrederick Laval from the La Presse receivesTanya Berezuk receives the inaugural 1963The Act of Parliament is signedBookmark Educate Yourselves, my Brethrenthe John Syrnick Award for Journalism. Shevchenko Foundation Emerging Writers by the Governor General Georges-Philasis issued. 2012Kobzar Literary Award isShort Prose Competition. Vanier on July 22, 1963.2003The first Kobzar Literary Awardpresented to Shandi Mitchell for Under this2021The Shevchenko Foundation 1964The Ukrainian Canadian Congressis announced. Unbroken Sky initiates special support measures for.grant applicants in light of the Covid-19 (UCC) appoints the first board with Dr.2004The Avramenko exhibit is2013The Board of Directors approves apandemic.Isydore Hlynka as President. The first grantunveiled at the UCC Congress held innew logo for the Foundation. The Globe and of $400 is disbursed. Winnipeg.Mail articles written by Brian Bonner,Illustrator Anna Bucciarelli, soprano Natalya 1965The first large grant of $5,000 isHon. Derek Fraser, John Doyle and JohnGennadi and vocalist Stacey Yerofeyeva awarded to UCC for the publication of 3The Walter Halchuk Memorial Book AwardStackhouse receive the John Syrnick Awardshare the 2021 REACH Mentorship/books: The Ukrainian Poets 1189-1962 is established. for Journalism. Residency for the Arts Awards., and The Poetical Works of Taras Shevchenko 2005Shevchenko Foundation officeAdrian Lysenko receives the2014Kobzar Literary Award is both translated by Andrusyshen andmoves to a new home at 202 - 952 Main Stpresented to Diane Flacks, playwright, inShevchenko Foundation Kirkconnell, and Taras Shevchenko the Artistin Winnipeg.Ben Wasylyshen creates acollaboration with Andrey Tarasiuk and LubaEmerging Writers Short by Keywan. unique window art panel, The FoundationGoy for the play Luba, Simply Luba Prose Competition. 1967The Shevchenko FoundationWindow receives charitable status. The John Syrnick Journalism Award is2015Shevchenko Foundation launched and presented to Mark MacKinnoncelebrates its 50th anniversary in Nanaimo, 1968The first largest single grant ofof the Globe & Mail for his coverage of theBC, Thunder Bay, ON, Halifax, NS, and $5,000 is made in support of theOrange Revolution. other centres in Canada. As an anniversary development of audio-visual methodologyproject, Shevchenko Foundation releases a and materials for teaching Ukrainian2006The first Kobzar Literary Award3-disc compilation CDGolden Harvest: A language in public schools.of $25,000 is presented to Danny Schur forMusical Celebration of Ukrainian CanadianaSTRIKE! The Musical , 1969A donation of $10,000 from thefor Lesias Dreamand to Laura Langstonfeaturing songs and music by artists who . had received funding from the Foundation Ukrainian Literary Society of T. Shevchenko,Anne Smigel is the first donor to theover the years.Kenora, ON is received. Kobzar Literary Award designated fund2016Kobzar Literary Award is 1971The Foundation is accepted as awith a donation of $25,000. presented to Maurice Mierau for member organization of the UCC.TheDetachment: An Adoption MemoirPresident of the Foundation becomes aThe Kobzar Literary Award is announced. member of the UCC Board of Directors.and the KOBZAR Writer's Scholarship at theShevchenko Foundation launches its $20 1978The Foundation reaches its firstHumber School for Writers is established. million dollar Our Legacy Our Tomorrow one million dollars. 2007The first recipient of the KobzarCapital Campaign in Toronto (September, Writers Scholarship at the Humber School2015) and Winnipeg (February, 2016).1981The Foundation reaches $1.5for Writers is Helen Pretulak. Victor Malarek2017The Shevchenko Foundation million dollars. receives the John Syrnick Award forlaunches its redesigned and mobile-friendly 1987The Foundation receives its firstJournalism. website.designated fund from Stefan and Maria2008The Government of CanadaThe Our Legacy Our TomorrowYankowski grants $10 million to the Foundation to Capitalof Winnipeg MB. Campaign continues to gain momentum 1989The Foundation purchases one- establish the Canadian First World Warwith informational evenings in Saskatoon, half interest in the land and building fromInternment Recognition Fund.Edmonton and Winnipeg.UCC located at 456 Main St in WinnipegThe winner of the Kobzar Literary Award2018Kobzar Literary Award is MB where the offices of the Foundation areis Janice Kulyk Keefer The Ladies Lendingpresented to Lisa Grekul and Lindy located. Library. Ledahowski, editors for Unbound: . Ukrainian Canadians Writing Home58 ShevchenkoFoundationAnnualReport/"