Shevchenko Foundation Welcomes New Officers and Directors

The Ukrainian Canadian Foundation of Taras Shevchenko is pleased to announce the appointment of Officers and the election of three new members to the Board of Directors.

During the Annual General Meeting held on June 18, 2021, the Board of Directors appointed the following Officers of the Foundation for a one-year term (2021-22):






● Boris Balan, President
● Gordon Gordey, First Vice-President
● Lidia Narozniak, Second Vice-President
● Scott Armstrong, Secretary-Treasurer

The Board also elected for a three-year term (2021-24) the following new members who bring a wealth of expertise in both the not-for-profit sector and the arts:







● Roma Dubczak
A proud first generation Ukrainian Canadian, Roma is a member of PLAST Ukrainian Youth Association. She has served on the Board of Governors of Royal St. George’s College (Chair of Strategic Planning Committee), the Toronto Biennial of Art (founding Governor), and Ukrainian Canadian Cooperative Nursery School (Board Chair).

● Dr. Lindy Ledohowski
Lindy is an educator, scholar and entrepreneur. She is the CEO of her own company, EssayJack, an activator with SheEO, which supports women-led ventures, served as Board Trustee with the Canadian Museum for Human Rights, and served on editorial boards for a novel publishing company based in Winnipeg.

● Halyna Perun
Halyna has served as a member of choral arts groups, a fundraiser for various Ukrainian Canadian institutions, and currently a Director of St. Vladimir’s Institute (Toronto). Halyna has provided legal advice in government oversight of several corporations, including Public Health Ontario, Infrastructure Ontario, and Ontario Clean Water Agency.
The Board of Directors acknowledges and expresses heartfelt gratitude to past President Andrew Hladyshevsky for his tireless efforts, vision, and leadership. Andrew saw the potential for the development of a preeminent foundation that would support the growth and development of the Ukrainian community across Canada, and he dedicated countless hours to realizing a vision – one which inspires community development in a Canada that acknowledges Ukrainian Canadians as nation-builders and a fundamental component of Canadian society. Andrew continues to serve as a Director of the Shevchenko Foundation, ensuring continuity with his guidance and support.

“It is an honour to serve as President of the Shevchenko Foundation together with a group of highly-qualified, dedicated Directors from across Canada,” stated newly elected President Boris Balan. “We remain committed to the mission and vision of the Foundation, and we look forward to our continued partnership with the community in ensuring the Foundation’s legacy for generations to come.”

The Shevchenko Foundation Board of Directors includes Boris Balan (Toronto) – President, Gordon Gordey (Edmonton) – First Vice-President, Lidia Narozniak (Hamilton) – Second Vice-President, Scott Armstrong (Winnipeg) – Secretary-Treasurer, Adrian Boyko (Saskatoon), Roma Dubczak (Toronto), Andrew Hladyshevsky, Q.C. (Edmonton), Dr. Lindy Ledohowski (Ottawa), Oryssia Lennie C.M. (Edmonton), Halyna Perun (Toronto), Orest Sklierenko (Toronto),

The Ukrainian Canadian Foundation of Taras Shevchenko is a national, chartered
philanthropic institution dedicated to the preservation, promotion, and development of the
Ukrainian Canadian cultural heritage and to the advancement of a flourishing Ukrainian
community for the enrichment of Canada by providing leadership in building and sustaining a
permanent endowment fund.